Act Now to Preserve Safety and Dignity for All Montanans

All Montanans Deserve Safety & DignityHB 609, The Montana Locker Room Privacy Act, would lead to a 2018 referendum on banning transgender people from school and public restrooms or locker rooms that do not match the gender assigned at birth. 

The House Judiciary Committee held a hearing on this bill today but hasn’t voted yet. The committee members need to hear from constituents urging them to OPPOSE this blatantly discriminatory bill.

This is the same committee that killed HB 417, the bill that would have extended non-discrimination protections to include sexual orientation and gender identity. It will be an uphill battle, but don’t let that stop you! If passed, this bill will not go to the Governor’s desk for likely veto so we have to beat it in the Legislature.

CALL: 406-444-4800

If you’re feeling social and live in Missoula, Bozeman, or Helena, you can attend an HB 609 phone bank. There will be events in all three cities on Tuesday, March 28 and Thursday, March 30 from 5-7:30.

Bozeman: 105 W Main Street, contact Kiah with any questions

Missoula: 136 E Broadway, contact Kiah with any questions

Helena: Location TBD, contact Garrett for location and any questions

MESSAGE: You can use this online form to contact the entire committee. You can also email the members of the committee individually.

  • Priority Republicans:
    • Rep.Lola.Sheldon-Galloway@mt.gov
    • alandoane@midrivers.com (Chair)
    • Rep.Seth.Berglee@mt.gov (Vice Chair)
  • Other Republicans:
    • Rep.Bob.Brown@mt.gov
    • Rep.Bill.Harris@mt.gov
    • Rep.Casey.Knudsen@mt.gov
    • Rep.Theresa.Manzella@mt.gov
    • Rep.Dale.Mortensen@mt.gov
    • Rep.Matt.Regier@mt.gov
    • Rep.Barry.Usher@mt.gov
    • Rep.Kirk.Wagoner@mt.gov
  • Democrats (lowest priority):
    • Rep.Laurie.Bishop@mt.gov
    • vcourtforlegislature@yahoo.com
    • Rep.Jenny.Eck@mt.gov
    • elliehillhd94@gmail.com
    • Rep.Kathy.Kelker@mt.gov
    • Rep.Nate.McConnell@mt.gov
    • Rep.Shane.Morigeau@mt.gov
    • Rep.Zac.Perry@mt.gov

Sample Script: “My name is (insert name), and I’m writing to ask you to reject HB 609, the Montana Locker Room Privacy Act.  HB 609 singles out an already vulnerable population – a group that struggles with an alarmingly high number of suicide attempts (46% of non-gender conforming individuals vs. 4.6% of the general population) – at a time when we, as Montanans, are struggling to address the state’s excessive suicide rate.  Numerous studies show that the high incidence of suicide attempts among transgendered individuals is symptomatic of the rejection, discrimination, violence, and harassment endured by this population.  The legislature should be consistent in its effort to combat our state’s high rate of suicide!  

Additionally, HB 609 opens up local governments and their school districts to the risk of extensive (and expensive) litigation. Government entities and schools will have the incredible expense of regulating their locker rooms, restrooms, and other accommodations. We have seen how other states have lost revenue because of similar bills; Montana does not want, or need, to be thrust into that spotlight!  Please, stand up for the privacy, inclusivity and fiscal responsibility that we value as Montanans and vote NO on this bill!

Want more info?

Full text of bill

Current status of bill

Missoulian article about the bill

 


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s